15 Jul 2020   review left on Google Business for museoCASANOVA by Wim Leemans

This gem of a music school and museum is completely off the beaten path in the beautiful region of Lombardia. It is an incredible, thought provoking experience to visit the museum with the founder and curator. He had a long and distinguished career in climate science (started before it gained the critical importance it has today) and has an artistic talent that results in a truly amazing collection of art/science duality. The music school is also beautifully built and must lead to creativity through its construction. It’s a must see!


22 Mar 2020   commento da Stefano Caserini, Climalteranti

Da tempo si dice che la sfida del cambiamento climatico debba essere affrontata nella sua dimensione profonda, sistemica, coinvolgendo le scienze umanistiche, per stabilire connessioni con i diversi aspetti della nostra cultura. Nelle stanze del Museum of Anthropocene Technology ho trovato questo. Non solo un racconto dell’antropocene a partire dalle tecnologie che ne hanno determinato e caratterizzato lo sviluppo. Anche una rete di connessioni, fra le Città Invisibili di Italo Calvino e gli scritti più recenti di Bruno Latour, il Quinto rapporto IPCC e il fallout radioattivo di Chernobyl, le schede dei personal computer e la riproduzione della molecola del glucosio o della CO2


7 Jan 2020 recensione su Tripadvisor scritta da Silvia Nidasio

Un luogo dove capire il presente e riflettere sul futuro. - Il climatologo Frank Raes ha ideato questo progetto che illustra, sotto la sua guida, un percorso per comprendere la nostra epoca e le sua problematiche ambientali, inquadrando il tutto nel percorso storico e filosofico. Lo scopo è quello di rilfettere su quanto possiamo fare per evitare i peggiori scenari che gli studiosi evidenziano, ricordando che gli scienziati analizzano, ma tutti i cittadini - e i governi - devono agire per indirizzare il proprio futuro. Un modo originale per comprendere la nostra epoca confusa e immaginare un nuovo rinascimento.


3 Dec 2019 email from Ute Stips  (Benvenuto Club Varese)

The mixture of philosophy, art and science was fascinating. - More than over climate we were listening about philosophical aspects, very interesting indeed! - Absolutely one of the most interesting things I've done this year! - 

3 Dec 2019    review by Lynn Slater Das (Benvenuto Club Varese)

The Museum of Anthropocene Technology, in Laveno-Mombello is a beautiful stone structure composed of three former rustic houses that share a courtyard, rebuilt in an open plan, with a span of long rectangular windows facing south to catch the sun. The building is multipurpose offering a school of music for stringed instruments. As we ascend the wood and steel stairs, we pass a large room which seems to be for mediation and yoga, quiet and composed with a wonderful energy emerging. There is a sculpture in white of a circle depicted in three dimensions as a cylinder: man, versus nature. It is towered over by a moebius sculpture, also in white, which depicts the affinity between man living in harmony with nature, neither one dominating the other. On the top floor we look out of windows which offer of view of Leggiuno to the south and Lago Maggiore.

The first part of the tour presents us with concepts of the former age from the medieval times to the industrial, scientific age. We see the Musei Wormiami Historia, 1655, which is a collection of objects from the natural world in a type Cabinet of Curiosities. The 16th century was a time of great change and upheaval. The picture reveals there are touches of superstition, for example is that tusk a unicorn’s horn or does it belong to some animal (narwhal perhaps)? We see two canvasses with the complimentary or opposing words, in straight lines and columns: nature versus artificiality, object versus subject, science versus politics, method versus intuition, us versus them; science and reason at one side, and art, politics, law, religion, on the other. The ideas of Bruno Latour concerning duality and modernity are presented: polar opposites, or do these concepts jumble together in a chaotic way?

The Anthropocene is a proposed geological epoch (time period) dating from the commencement of significant human impact on Earth's geology and ecosystems, including, but not limited to, anthropogenic climate change. At the Museum of Anthropocene Technology, there is a collection of things which could be as effective as a book in achieving the goal of understanding things. Six Memos for the Next Millennium, the values which Italo Calvino shines a light on are: Lightness, Quickness, Exactitude, Visibility, Multiplicity and Consistency. 

After a discussion we go to view the objects in the museum on the ground floor. We see many wood carvings, some appear as wooden totems, which are recovered from the wooden beams repurposed during reconstruction of the building. There are many blocks sculpted as mazes, puzzles, shelves, containers, frames. There is a copy of a Turner painting which shows an old wooden sailboat being tugged by a new, coal burning, brutally ugly tugboat up a river in London, spewing dark smoke into the sky. On a table rest various objects such as wheels, rotors, gas tank with pressure meter, and a windmill type object. There are a pair of eyeglasses designed in Italy, manufactured in China, formed in plastic, which were the subject of a TED talk about the waste produced by globalization, there is a photograph of air pollution produced with ink mixed with the very air pollution taken from a filter. Plastic found buried in the layers of rocks during reconstruction was artistically represented by a layer of Lego amongst the foundation rocks. A map showed the dispersion of radioactive waste from Chernobyl as the winds carried and deposited it on various countries of Europe. Many objects such as Tintin’s rocket, an Alessi coffee pot and lemon juicer, and glass distillation equipment from Chemistry (sets) are displayed behind or among artistic representations of chemical or molecular bonds. There are drawings and sculptures representing Italo Calvino’s Eudossia or futuristic world.

2 Dec 2019 review left on Google Business for museoCASANOVA by Jin Feng Gong

Have you ever wondered why a piece was exhibited in a museum? Or would like to suggest an alternative explanation for an exhibit? Well, here's your chance! The curator takes the visitors (groups 10 maximum) to his Museum of Anthropology Technology on a journey to rekindle wonder, doubt and new connections between the objects on show in his museum. Curiosity, exploration, questions and spontaneous thoughts are all welcome here and the curator obviously enjoys deep talks. A museum where one does not just passively fill one's senses but where one has a chance to actively participate in the explanation of the exhibits is such a great idea that I am almost inspired to start one. Not to be missed!

2 Dec 2019 email Jin Feng Goh

We would both like to thank you for your most wonderful hospitality yesterday. The conversation we had was one of the most informative and stimulating one we have had with anyone else for a long time! We really liked the ideas that you have had to connect up things that are so different in surprising ways.


28 Ott 2019 email Margherita (Culturtour Como)

Desidero ringraziarti a nome di tutto il gruppo per l'interessantissimo pomeriggio. Personalmente l'ho trovato eccezionale.

28 May 2019 email Axel Van Wynsberghe  (JRC post-docs)

Thank you very much for your tour yesterday. We were all left with a surprising new outlook on the world as we left the museum. I think everyone - from the toxicologist to the physicist - really took something from this experience.

24 Ott 2019 email Sandro Anella 

Voglio esprimere la mia riconoscenza per il lavoro di sensibilizzazione che sta svolgendo, tanto utile in un mondo che sembra aver perso l'orientamento.