30 Aug 2022  recensie door Barbara Raes

Als je je afvraagt of het nog goed komt met de mens en zijn verhouding tot de planeet of waarom we ons gedragen zoals we ons gedragen, ga dan zeker eens een kijkje nemen in het Museum of Anthropocene Technology.

Via een artistiek/wetenschappelijke combinatie en interpretatie van hedendaagse objecten wordt je verbeelding geprikkeld om na te denken over hoe wij vandaag leven en of deze manier ons wel zal dienen om te overleven. Je navigeert tussen toekomstige tijd, en een terugblik in een verleden tijd, die dan eigenlijk weer gaat over de tegenwoordige tijd. Het kan ingewikkeld klinken, maar je krijgt een duidelijk kompas aangereikt door o.a. Italo Cavino’s: “ Six Memos for the Next Millennium”.

Het narratief is van een complexe eenvoud: losgekoppeld van een catastrofale afloop of een rampenverhaal, toont het museum met humor een poging tot het begrijpen en archiveren van onze cultuur vandaag. De afstandelijke blik is een strategie om rust te scheppen maar ook om de verbeelding uit te dagen. Zo creëert het museum een plek voor reflectie over onze omgang met materialen, objecten en grondstoffen. Het museum nodigt op die manier uit tot eerlijkheid: een opening om na te denken, zonder onmiddellijk met de vinger te wijzen.

Is niet-relativerende humor een strategie om voorbij het ecorouwen te kijken? Misschien is dit nog de enige manier om de pijn van een schreeuwende planeet te troosten? In elk geval wordt door de curator van het museum een extreme urgentie tot gedragsverandering omgetoverd in zinvolle gulzigheid naar betekenisgeving. Alleen al om even te mogen mee-surfen op de fantasierijke golven van deze gedachtengang is het de moeite om het te museum te bezoeken!


25 Apr 2022  review on Google Business by Letitia Knapp (CH)

Nous sommes allez en famille et n'avions pas réalisé qu'il fallait prendre rdv. Le propriétaire est venu suite à notre appel et nous a fait une super visites et suscité des réflexions intéressantes sur le climat et l'impact de l'homme. Très bel expo et joli mélange d'art et d'histoire.


9 Nov 2021 from the Guestbook by Tiny Domingos (PT)

Very pleased to have the chance to enter a museum that is an invitation for reflections on the big issues of our times. The architecture invites you to find your own pathway into technological, scientifici and artistic territories and prints out a new perspective to build futurity by overcoming binary thinking and the human/nature divide. I wish al the best for this great initiative that I understand as being full of hope and calling for action.


10 Sept 2021 from the Guestbook by Jens (DE)

A big white sheet of paper
Just letters
Thoughts
and even bigger wonder
What a present presented to me,
makes me kind of speechless
so there is just this:
THANKS


10 Sept 2021 from the Guestbook by Frank (DE)

SHIKI SOKU SE KU
KU SOKU SE SHIKI
-
FORM IS EMPTINESS
EMPTINESS IS FORM


10 Sept 2021 from talking with Jens (DE) at the Rock a Bar

In the beginning, when entering the museum, I was puzzled.
At th eend, when leaving, I was completely confused; my world had exploded.


29 Dic 2020  recensione scritta da Serena Scionti (IT)

Il piccolo ma ricco e originale Museo delle Tecnologie dell'Antropocene consente al visitatore di immergersi in un'esperienza multiculturale che suggerisce come le realtà terrestri, umane e non-umane, siano inscindibilmente interconnesse, e necessitino di una narrazione collettiva che le abbracci con un unico grande sguardo, una sola grande mano che tutte le accarezzi, dando loro pari dignità. Ecco allora che in queste stanze i materiali ci parlano, gli oggetti si fanno "cose" significanti, i reperti ci raccontano come siamo giunti a questa nuova era, l'antropocene, in cui l'intervento antropico si è fatto pesante, essendosi l'uomo dimenticato che "la Natura" non è altro da sé: respiriamo tutti in Gaia, con Gaia, la terra. Uscire da questo "museo a conduzione familiare" e ritrovare la pianta, la nuvola, la neve, pacificati. Grazie Frank!


15 Jul 2020   review left on Google Business for museoCASANOVA by Wim Leemans (BE)

This gem of a music school and museum is completely off the beaten path in the beautiful region of Lombardia. It is an incredible, thought provoking experience to visit the museum with the founder and curator. He had a long and distinguished career in climate science (started before it gained the critical importance it has today) and has an artistic talent that results in a truly amazing collection of art/science duality. The music school is also beautifully built and must lead to creativity through its construction. It’s a must see!


22 Mar 2020   commento da Stefano Caserini, Climalteranti (IT)

Da tempo si dice che la sfida del cambiamento climatico debba essere affrontata nella sua dimensione profonda, sistemica, coinvolgendo le scienze umanistiche, per stabilire connessioni con i diversi aspetti della nostra cultura. Nelle stanze del Museum of Anthropocene Technology ho trovato questo. Non solo un racconto dell’antropocene a partire dalle tecnologie che ne hanno determinato e caratterizzato lo sviluppo. Anche una rete di connessioni, fra le Città Invisibili di Italo Calvino e gli scritti più recenti di Bruno Latour, il Quinto rapporto IPCC e il fallout radioattivo di Chernobyl, le schede dei personal computer e la riproduzione della molecola del glucosio o della CO2


7 Jan 2020 recensione su Tripadvisor scritta da Silvia Nidasio (IT)

Un luogo dove capire il presente e riflettere sul futuro. - Il climatologo Frank Raes ha ideato questo progetto che illustra, sotto la sua guida, un percorso per comprendere la nostra epoca e le sua problematiche ambientali, inquadrando il tutto nel percorso storico e filosofico. Lo scopo è quello di rilfettere su quanto possiamo fare per evitare i peggiori scenari che gli studiosi evidenziano, ricordando che gli scienziati analizzano, ma tutti i cittadini - e i governi - devono agire per indirizzare il proprio futuro. Un modo originale per comprendere la nostra epoca confusa e immaginare un nuovo rinascimento.


3 Dec 2019 email from Ute Stips  (Benvenuto Club Varese) (IT/DE)

The mixture of philosophy, art and science was fascinating. - More than over climate we were listening about philosophical aspects, very interesting indeed! - Absolutely one of the most interesting things I've done this year! - 

3 Dec 2019    review by Lynn Slater Das (Benvenuto Club Varese) (IT/GB)

The Museum of Anthropocene Technology, in Laveno-Mombello is a beautiful stone structure composed of three former rustic houses that share a courtyard, rebuilt in an open plan, with a span of long rectangular windows facing south to catch the sun. The building is multipurpose offering a school of music for stringed instruments. As we ascend the wood and steel stairs, we pass a large room which seems to be for mediation and yoga, quiet and composed with a wonderful energy emerging. There is a sculpture in white of a circle depicted in three dimensions as a cylinder: man, versus nature. It is towered over by a moebius sculpture, also in white, which depicts the affinity between man living in harmony with nature, neither one dominating the other. On the top floor we look out of windows which offer of view of Leggiuno to the south and Lago Maggiore.

The first part of the tour presents us with concepts of the former age from the medieval times to the industrial, scientific age. We see the Musei Wormiami Historia, 1655, which is a collection of objects from the natural world in a type Cabinet of Curiosities. The 16th century was a time of great change and upheaval. The picture reveals there are touches of superstition, for example is that tusk a unicorn’s horn or does it belong to some animal (narwhal perhaps)? We see two canvasses with the complimentary or opposing words, in straight lines and columns: nature versus artificiality, object versus subject, science versus politics, method versus intuition, us versus them; science and reason at one side, and art, politics, law, religion, on the other. The ideas of Bruno Latour concerning duality and modernity are presented: polar opposites, or do these concepts jumble together in a chaotic way?

The Anthropocene is a proposed geological epoch (time period) dating from the commencement of significant human impact on Earth's geology and ecosystems, including, but not limited to, anthropogenic climate change. At the Museum of Anthropocene Technology, there is a collection of things which could be as effective as a book in achieving the goal of understanding things. Six Memos for the Next Millennium, the values which Italo Calvino shines a light on are: Lightness, Quickness, Exactitude, Visibility, Multiplicity and Consistency. 

After a discussion we go to view the objects in the museum on the ground floor. We see many wood carvings, some appear as wooden totems, which are recovered from the wooden beams repurposed during reconstruction of the building. There are many blocks sculpted as mazes, puzzles, shelves, containers, frames. There is a copy of a Turner painting which shows an old wooden sailboat being tugged by a new, coal burning, brutally ugly tugboat up a river in London, spewing dark smoke into the sky. On a table rest various objects such as wheels, rotors, gas tank with pressure meter, and a windmill type object. There are a pair of eyeglasses designed in Italy, manufactured in China, formed in plastic, which were the subject of a TED talk about the waste produced by globalization, there is a photograph of air pollution produced with ink mixed with the very air pollution taken from a filter. Plastic found buried in the layers of rocks during reconstruction was artistically represented by a layer of Lego amongst the foundation rocks. A map showed the dispersion of radioactive waste from Chernobyl as the winds carried and deposited it on various countries of Europe. Many objects such as Tintin’s rocket, an Alessi coffee pot and lemon juicer, and glass distillation equipment from Chemistry (sets) are displayed behind or among artistic representations of chemical or molecular bonds. There are drawings and sculptures representing Italo Calvino’s Eudossia or futuristic world.

2 Dec 2019 review left on Google Business for museoCASANOVA by Jin Feng Gong (IT)

Have you ever wondered why a piece was exhibited in a museum? Or would like to suggest an alternative explanation for an exhibit? Well, here's your chance! The curator takes the visitors (groups 10 maximum) to his Museum of Anthropology Technology on a journey to rekindle wonder, doubt and new connections between the objects on show in his museum. Curiosity, exploration, questions and spontaneous thoughts are all welcome here and the curator obviously enjoys deep talks. A museum where one does not just passively fill one's senses but where one has a chance to actively participate in the explanation of the exhibits is such a great idea that I am almost inspired to start one. Not to be missed!

2 Dec 2019 email Jin Feng Goh (IT)

We would both like to thank you for your most wonderful hospitality yesterday. The conversation we had was one of the most informative and stimulating one we have had with anyone else for a long time! We really liked the ideas that you have had to connect up things that are so different in surprising ways.


24 Ott 2019 email Sandro Anella (IT)

Voglio esprimere la mia riconoscenza per il lavoro di sensibilizzazione che sta svolgendo, tanto utile in un mondo che sembra aver perso l'orientamento. 

28 Ott 2019 email Margherita (Culturtour Como) (IT)

Desidero ringraziarti a nome di tutto il gruppo per l'interessantissimo pomeriggio. Personalmente l'ho trovato eccezionale.

28 May 2019 email Axelle Van Wynsberghe  (JRC post-docs) (BE)

Thank you very much for your tour yesterday. We were all left with a surprising new outlook on the world as we left the museum. I think everyone - from the toxicologist to the physicist - really took something from this experience.